theorykasce.blogg.se

Elv dimmer for led lights
Elv dimmer for led lights





elv dimmer for led lights
  1. #ELV DIMMER FOR LED LIGHTS FULL#
  2. #ELV DIMMER FOR LED LIGHTS SERIES#

I could certainly be wrong, but the payoff for a $100 / bulb solution is 3X as long as the payoff of a $30 / bulb solution, and I have a *looot* of bulbs (mostly the expensive can lights, too). However, in *my* opinion, I think LED bulbs very well may continue to get cheaper *faster than the payoff rate of current LEDs*, which will actually make the payoff *sooner* if I wait a couple of years to replace my incandescents.

#ELV DIMMER FOR LED LIGHTS SERIES#

These series of dimmers are available in indoor and outdoor versions, providing up to 18, 25, 25, 28, 65 or fully 100 watts of power. I'm seriously considering replacing some under/over counter lighting with LEDs, mainly because it'll look better, and those lights are on for *hours*, since I use them for walk-around lighting at night, as well as accent lighting during the day. These triac dimmable LED power supplies are fully compatible with most TRIAC/ELV/SCR phase dimmers, they translate the output of those devices into output more suitable to LEDs. I'm *certainly* not saying I'm against LED lighting, or that you won't ultimately save money switching to LED lighting. I agree that LEDs will ultimately have a great return, but if you factor out the fact that I'm not having to replace indandescents due to burned out bulbs (so no savings there), and that I'm already at a smaller wattage being used with the incandescents than the expected 100% for X hours, the payback is longer than estimates I've read. Thanks for the breakdon rgulley, I appreciate it Thanks so much for taking the time to do the math. Long story short, its the only bulb you will ever buy, and pays you back more money by percentage than JP Morgan with your retirement!!

#ELV DIMMER FOR LED LIGHTS FULL#

The LED 50,000 hours is based on burning the lamp at full power. A LED is burning 97% at the end of its life. PLUS, at the end of the life of the standard, it is burning same wattage at 70% of the brightness it was. I have not figured in the extra taxes you are charged on the cost savings you have at this point. (LED's last up to 50,000 hours) Take that cost away from the $24.00 and now you have $18.00 dollars.ĭivide the $18.00 by the cost of operation savings per year, $8.35, and that comes out to be 2.1 years. NOW, in the course of the time I have to replace the standard flood (1000 hour bulb) one time. The bulb costing $30.00 minus the standard at $6.00 is $24.00. 105 KWH times the electric rate of 9 cents is $9.45. Using the same figures for the standard flood, I am burning 75 watts times 1400 hours is 105,000 watts or 105 KWH. Therefore I am burning $1.13 per year per LED flood. (2 weeks out for vacation)ĩ watts times 1400 hours is 12,600 watts or 12.6 KWH. By a amp probe reading I am now burning around 9 watts, and this by my eyes, is the same as the 75 watt standard.Ĥ hours per day times 7 days is 28 hours times 50 weeks is 1400 hours. I found the LED to be brighter than the standard 75 watt, so I have dimmed all lighting in the house. The cost of the equivalent incandesant is around $6.00, depending on which bulb you choose. The cost of these bulbs are $29.95 or for easy figures $30.00. The led bulbs I bought were from Home Depot. Of course if you have young kids, or worse yet, teenagers, it can be a lot more. Here is how I figured out my LED lighting to the incandesant bulb I factor the average use of a light, which is around 4 hours a day. Lutron MLV dimmers are specifically designed to prevent DC voltage from being applied to the transformer.Sorry for the delay in responce, but I am building a home and fighting with internet provider for the lack of.

elv dimmer for led lights

Regular incandescent dimmers often contain a small amount of DC voltage, which is harmless to a regular incandescent load but may damage magnetic transformers. LED LIGHTS AND ELV TECHNOLOGY LED options usually use an ELV reverse- phase option because it prevents unnecessary power surges, conserves energy, and conserves lighting application ability. In respect to this, is ELV reverse phase? Magnetic low voltage lights tend to be larger and heavier than electronic low voltage. MLV Dimmers are suitable for recessed lights which are most often magnetic low voltage. One may also ask, do I need an ELV dimmer? ELV Dimmers require a neutral wire for installation. SELV, PELV, FELV, are distinguished by various safety properties, supply characteristics and design voltages. These names come from the way in which this dimmer transitions your LED's luminosity.Įxtra-low voltage ( ELV) is an electricity supply voltage in a range which carries a low risk of dangerous electrical shock. ELV dimmers are also called simply “electronic dimmers”, as well as “trailing edge dimmers”. An ELV dimmer is known by a number of names.







Elv dimmer for led lights